Thrift store dress, Part 1

My friend’s birthday is this weekend. Her theme is vintage Disney/dapper day at Disney so I needed an outfit.

I had something I could wear but honestly I wanted to wear something new but I did not want to pay full dress price since I’m trying to budget for Dragon Con.

So, of course, I go looking at Goodwill for possible dresses. I like thrift stores. Goodwill helps our community and of course I love the prices, and they have a better selection for my size than the other thrift store in town, Value Village. There are certain things I won’t purchase secondhand like pillows and underwear. I like being thrifty but I have standards.

So the first dress I found could work as it was. It was a good fit and I loved the fabric but having the pattern on the entire dress was a bit much for me. I was also not a fan of the elastic waist. I remember my grandmother wearing a lot of dresses like this about 15 years ago.

20140729-121603-44163508.jpg

I looked a little longer to see if I could find something else or a different shirt for it. I found a different dress with a very similar cut and size that matches one of the colors in the pattern.

20140729-121743-44263301.jpg

The top of the green dress was a little tight so I decided I wanted to splice the dresses together using the top of the patterned one and the bottom of the green with a chunky black fabric piece to look like a belt. I cut the patterned dress in half and turned it inside out to get it ready to pin together and I cut the green dress on half, leaving the zipper down to save it. In retrospect I should have cut the zipper out in its entirety but I didn’t think about the fact that I would be using it attached to the fabric already.

20140729-122056-44456303.jpg

Since I was cutting things apart I wanted the skirt to look fuller as pleats didn’t go with the 1950’s look I envisioned (I also don’t really like pleats). I had to iron the thing out and it took a little bit for me to find the right setting on the iron and process to straighten it out.

I had just cut and sewn together the black fabric belt piece when McGee was meowing outside the door. (I have to keep the kitties out because they will eat anything.) I had been working for a couple hours and figured I could take a break to snuggle him.

20140729-125649-46609644.jpg

Hopefully I’ll be able to finish the dress in another day or so. I have to remind myself to take pictures because it is so easy for me to start working and realize later that I didn’t take any pictures. : /

Leave a Reply

